Jump to a section of this article using the links below or just scroll down.
# Connecting to Xero
A walkthrough of connecting Dext Precision to Xero can be found in our Getting Started guide.
# How do we interact with Xero?
The diagram below illustrates the general process flow between Dext Precision and Xero, from connecting a client to Xavier through to automated syncing overnight. You can see the Xero data we import into a Dext Precision client in the Xero Organisation:
When a client is first linked to Dext Precision, the initial sync imports all the historical information available from Xero.
Once the initial sync is complete, subsequent syncs only look for and import the changes since the last sync, which is much faster. You can see the last time a client was successfully synced on the card in the Client List, and on the Client Overview.
Dext Precision will sync with Xero to get the latest changes each night. If you make some changes in Xero and don't want to wait for the overnight sync, you can also start a manual sync. This can be done using the Sync Now button available on the Client Overview:
or from the options menu of a client on the Client List page:
TIP - Think your sync is taking too long? Our troubleshooting may help.
# Managing the Xero connection
Your client will remain connected and in sync with Xero unless you tell Dext Precision otherwise. Disconnecting a client from Xero will mean that the client will remain in Dext Precision in its current state - it will no longer receive updates from Xero. You can do this via the Unlink from Xero button on the Client Overview page.
If a client is not connected to Xero this will be indicated by the open padlock and the Link to Xero button. If you wish to link a client back up with Xero, clicking this will redirect you to Xero for re-authentication. Dext Precision will do a sync after re-linking, so that it is up to date with any changes.
Xero also provide a way of removing connected apps directly from their site.
Even if disconnected, your client's data will remain in Dext Precision until the client is deleted